Testimonials

At Allegro Optical many of our clients are introduced to us through word of mouth and personal recommendation. Here are just a few of the comments we have received from our clients, many of whom have now become firm friends and some of which are musicians.

We recognise the importance of great client care and individual attention. That is why we want all our clients and friends to be delighted with their purchase.

"It's easy to get lost when you can't see the map, now I can read the map and see the world at the same time, it’s a joy. Service was wonderful too, Thank you Allegro"
Amy Gault - Splat Training - Todmorden - November 2018
"I would like to personally thank Sheryl and her team for a fantastic customer experience, from going into the store to collection of glasses, first class professional service. Thankyou very very much !!!!!"
Mark Beaurain - Meltham - November 2018
"I just felt that I had to write to you to thank you for introducing me to Vocational Lenses. As you know I do a lot of paper crafting, cards and the like. Having a separate pair of glasses with Vocational Lenses has helped enormously with this hobby and, indeed with any close and short distance work, so much so that I have expanded my interests into painting and have my first exhibition exposure in Hebden Bridge in November. Thank you for helping me cope with this new interest which gives me so much pleasure. I will have no hesitation in recommending Vocational Lenses and your practice to friends and relations. "
Diane Whitehouse - Sowerby Bridge - October 2018
"Anyone wanting a reliable, friendly service need look no further. I've been using opticians over 40 years and Allegro and Sheryl are light years ahead of the rest. I am in France and Sheryl received my broken glasses by post after giving me instant email advice. She then posted them back once repaired. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Sue Ribbons. Excellent service. I recommend you to everyone and Hubby will be sent ( or brought) when necessary. "
Susan Ribbons - France - October 2018
"Having heard about your excellent customer service, I was not disappointed when I attended for an eye test and then purchased new glasses, which meant that I was no longer a danger to other motorists (or at least not due to my deteriorating eyesight). After a very thorough eye test had been performed, you and your staff spent a fair amount of time with me trying a number of pairs of glasses before I made my choice. I was not rushed in any way. When I took delivery of my new glasses, I was very happy with them and most importantly the fact that I could now see properly, having spent a number of weeks squinting at my computer screen. The level of service provided by Allegro Optical is exceptional and I would not hesitate to recommend your business to friends, colleagues and clients."
John Burnett - Ison Harrison Solicitors - Huddersfield - September 2018
"I just felt I had to email you all to let you know that the new contact lenses and both pairs of glasses supplied by you are amazing and they have changed my life. My back and neck pain has reduced significantly and my quality of life has improved immensely. Now I can drive, teach and read music. I can see around the classroom with ease and my confidence and self-esteem have improved greatly. I now can't imagine living my life without my contact lenses and glasses. Thank You so much."
Gary Collins - Music Teacher - September 2018
"The challenge as I get older is having the ability to be able to read the music and see the conductor clearly. The spectacles from Allegro Opticians allow me to do that so I can concentrate on music-making."
Adrian Bird - Bass Trombonist - Leyland Band - September 2018
"I wanted to write and say thank you for sorting out my new glasses, especially because I know they weren't straightforward. My new tinted lenses match the colour that I need to help with my dyslexia and reduce the glare which causes me lots of headaches if it's not done just right. It can be daunting going to a new optician when your eyesight isn't fantastic, so thank you for the warm and friendly welcome. I will happily recommend Allegro Optical to all my friends and contacts. "
Alex Crellin - New Mill, Holmfirth - September 2018
"I took my daughter in to get her eyes tested a few days ago and we have just collected her two new pairs of glasses. Normal ones and sunglasses, both free and she is so pleased with them. The service was excellent, Sarah who tested her eyes was brilliant and very thorough. Julia helped her choose her new glasses and was really good with her. Cheryl has just fitted them and spent time checking that they were ok for her. The glasses took just 4 days to arrive and the whole experience has been exceptional. I highly recommend Allegro Opticians."
Tracy Hirst - Honley - August 2018
"Great attention to detail and customer service. Fabulous choice of frames to suit all budgets."
Claire Curran - Meltham - August 2018
"At last he [Mr Steve Moss] can look at text and not screw his face up to achieve this! The team and Sheryl Doe are so good- and patient! Thank you so much! "
Mrs Helen Moss - Skelmanthorpe -August 2018
"I would like to say a huge "thank you" to you and your team and Steve who made my dreaded visit to the opticians a very pleasant experience indeed. You all made me very welcome and put me at ease straight away. Claire the Optician was extremely patient and kind and did not rush at all. In fact, we spent 15 minutes talking about turtles! Normally an eye test I just want to escape but I certainly didn't on this occasion. I was offered a nice cup of tea and we had a discussion about the type of spectacles I would like. You were all very patient when it came to the choosing of spectacles. It took me nearly an hour to decide which pair! The service was first class and I would not hesitate in recommending you in the future. In fact, all my family now have their eyes tested at Allegro! Thank you so much for such a pleasant Saturday morning. "
Jane Iveson - Barkisland - August 2018
"Lovely people and without a doubt, the best I've seen in 10 years."
Douglas Swanson - Holmfirth - July 2018
"I have had my new glasses and sunglasses for a couple of months now and I am writing to say how delighted I am not only with the glasses but with the excellent service and advice I received at your practice. You recommended a style and colour of glasses for my face shape and colouring which as you know were very different to what I have had before. You were of course right and I have had numerous compliments on them. I have already recommended Allegro to my friends and will continue to do so. I am pleased to support such an excellent local business."
Bev Bennell - Holmfirth - July 2018
"I have just taken my daughter to collect her new glasses from Allegro. What exceptional service, the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. She also got a free pair of prescription sunglasses. The last opticians I went to charged me £25 for glasses that should have been free and then tried to charge me again when they broke. Her spectacles were free and she got a free pair of sunglasses too. I will be moving my whole family to Allegro Optical. They really are the best opticians I have ever been too. Thank you so much Allegro Opticians."
Jessica Jared - Meltham - July 2018
"The boys and I have received a fantastic service. The optician was brilliant with the boys (under 8s) when doing their eye tests. She took time to explain things to them, listen to them and work with what they were comfortable with whilst ensuring they had a ‘good’ test. We had lots of support choosing all our frames and lenses, there was plenty of choice and different to what I’ve seen elsewhere. There were some great offers on, the new glasses all came in quickly and we’ve been offered ongoing support with their fit. The staff were friendly and helpful and let us take the time we needed to ensure things were right for us."
Jo Hilton-Jones - Meltham - July 2018
"Allegro Optical have been fantastic. They explained my vision problems in laymen's terms so that I could understand and my migraines have vastly reduced in frequency. I can't thank you all enough."
Sally Mitchell - Soprano Opera Singer - July 2018
"It’s very nice to be able to see what I’m doing when setting the smallest of screws in our flutes and our customers appreciate it too!"
Alistair Hanson - Hansons Instruments - Marsden - July 2018
"My husband and I would like to express our sincere thanks for the professional, friendly and first class service that we received from Sheryl and her team. Our spectacles are perfect and I will be ordering prescription sunglasses very soon!"
Stephanie and Alan Maxwell - Aspatria - June 2018
"Having collected my glasses a few weeks ago now, I just felt that I had to put pen to paper, well type an email to be exact! Having worn glasses all my life, I have had a great many eye tests and I have to say that Sheryl and Sara are the best opticians I have ever been to. For the first time ever my lenses were correct, my vision crystal clear and my new glasses didn't cause me to have any headaches. I have been so impressed by the very thorough eye examination, the attention to detail and Sheryl's patience whilst I was choosing my frames and sunglasses. The whole customer service is second to none and the experience has been a real pleasure. I recommend Allegro Optical to everyone, who wants to have right lenses and really comfortable, good looking glasses. Without it costing a fortune too! My advice to others is not to waste their time and money going elsewhere. Chose Allegro Optical because your eyes are worth the professional touch. Thank you so much, I will certainly be back again next year, "
John Turner - Meltham - June 2018
"Uncertainty with your vision is just as serious as a mechanical failure with your instrument. That moment of indecision increases performance pressure, leads to mistakes and stops you giving your best. All sorted now thanks to Allegro. Crystal clear vision even in a gloomy opera pit!"
Shaun Hooke - Principal Trumpet of the RTE Concert Orchestra - Dublin - June 2018
"Nothing is too much trouble for Allegro Optical, called in today for my glasses adjusting, sorted straight away with a smile. Thank you. "
Tracey Toothill - Honley - June 2018
"Within our industry its easy for our eyes to become strained. We teamed up with Allegro Optical and provided all of our employees with a free eye health check and glasses if needed. If you’re in search some new specs then pay them a visit! "
AFP Digital - Morley - June 2018
"A great result and such an improvement as I can see all my music immediately now. I would not hesitate to recommend Allegro Optical to anyone. Their service was so thorough, even playing their piano in the consultation room and my violin to check complicated distances, positions and heights. An interesting, friendly and genuine experience. Thank you all."
Jane Collins - Violinist Huddersfield Philharmonic - Meltham - June 2018
"I recently visited Allegro Opticians in Meltham, Holmfirth, where I was greeted with a very friendly and genuine welcome. I received a very thorough and professional eye test. All the staff were all very attentive and helpful, not at all pushy. I chose a lovely pair of British made spectacles from a wide range of frames. I collected my new glasses just a few days later and my vision is now crystal clear. The best it's ever been! I have been so impressed by all the team at Allegro Optical Opticians and I would recommend them to everyone. Excellent service, Excellent Products, amazing prices and lovely people. I will certainly be using them again. Allegro are by far the best opticians in Meltham."
Jane Palmer - Reviewed on Google - June 2018
"Just picked up 2 new pairs of glasses from Allegro Optical and I love them! I am delighted that my new hemp glasses fit with my own personal brand and looks - sustainable, UK made, durable, ethical and even pretty fashionable! The Allegro team are helpful and friendly - from my eye test to choosing the right frames for me, to fitting my new frames. Thank you, Sheryl and the team! "
Sophie Bebb - Fair and Funky - May 2018
"At last, I can see the conductor, music and the indices on the timps-all with the same glasses"
Cheryl Bratkowski - Timpanist - Harrogate - May 2018
"It’s brilliant to be able, finally, to concentrate on playing the music rather than worrying about seeing it –or not seeing it!."
Nicky Woods - Cellist and Pianist - Harrogate - May 2018
"Thank you so much for looking after my two boys and myself so well. Contact lenses and glasses for me and two pairs of glasses each for the boys. You are all so friendly, coming to Allegro Isn't like going to the Opticians it's like visiting friends."
Lianne Williams - Meltham - May 2018
"Thank you Allegro Optical for looking after Thor this afternoon. One four year old and an eye test can never be an easy thing. I will recommend you to everyone very impressed. "
Steve Burgon - Meltham - May 2018
"I Just wanted to take a moment to thank you for the exceptional service that you provided to my partner when she came for an eye test. She had used an online optician to order her glasses previously and after your service will never use them again. You were very informative about her vision. She was worried as driving at night had become a really big issue, but after speaking to your staff, she has fewer problems with this and a lot less migraines. Her new glasses fit properly and she loves them. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend you to friends and family as the service Sally received was second to none."
Darren Thompson - Eco Safe Electrical - Lockwood - May 2018
"First trip to the optician for the wee man today. The Allegro Optical team were amazing and very patient. Thankfully he was very well behaved too"
Nyree Hughes - Marsden - April 2018
"Thank you so much for looking after my Mum so well. I brought her to your opticians on the recommendation of a friend. You were all so kind and gentle with her, we were so impressed. Now all the family will be coming to you. "
Michelle Haigh - Huddersfield - April 2018
"My new glasses arrived safely and so far so good - I’m really pleased with them - everything is really clear and crisp. I was slightly nervous about having specialist glasses prescribed remotely but the whole process was very thorough from your end and easy from mine and the results are superb. Excellent - thank you!"
Charlotte Reynolds-Cellist Oakhampton - April 2018
"I am writing to thank you once again for having me for work experience. I had such an amazing time and I am missing you all. Thanks to you I now have a keen interest in the optical industry and would like to pursue a career in it."
Niamh Curran - Holmfirth High School - March 2018
"They say that failing eyesight is a sign of old age, which can't be correct in my case! But when needs must, I went to see Sheryl for an eye test. She offered a very professional, friendly service and was extremely helpful when choosing my glasses. She even went the extra mile by opening up the shop when I had lost my sunglasses so that I could purchase a pair for a wedding I was going to that day. I would not hesitate to recommend Allegro Optical to friends and family members. "
Keith Davidson - BMR Kirkburton - March 2018
"A big thank you to everyone at Allegro Optical. It suddenly dawned on me a few weeks ago that I was getting old when I had to ask my daughter to read the small print on some cooking instructions. I realised I needed to make an appointment for my eyes testing. The experience at Allegro Optical was great, from the moment I walked through the door, to the friendly and informative service with regards to my eye test and then when choosing glasses. Thank you to all the staff, I'd have no hesitation in recommending Allegro Optical to anyone and everyone in the future. The personal touch is much appreciated."
Lisa Hewitt - Huddersfield Community Trust - March 2018
"Thank you so very much, my glasses are fab. Thank you to your company for all your help these last 2 visits. I will certainly use Allegro Optical in the future."
S Edwards - Lepton - March 2018
"Dear Eye Lady I was a little bit scared when my Daddy said he was taking me to get my eyes tested, but it turned out to be good fun! A very nice lady got me to look at some pictures, but I was a bit sad when she said I did not need to wear glasses like my Daddy. I have to go back to look at some more pictures in six months time. So maybe then. I will tell everyone at Pre-School that they should get their eyes tested at your Eye Shop and my Daddy will tell all the grown-ups he knows too. "
Lots of Love Jack aged 3¾ - Huddersfield - March 2018
"I've just collected and tried my new sports glasses and I'm over the moon. I've never seen as clear "
Les Mee - Rochdale - March 2018
"Highly recommended. We have been so pleased with the service and care we have received. We're really glad to have such good opticians open up in Meltham. We needed one. Now we don't have to travel to Huddersfield. Good prices, free second pair, huge choice and lovely people. Even a free cup of tea, served in a bone China cup with a delicious biscuit."
A Lockwood - Meltham - March 2018
"Just a quick note to say thank you for the service you and your delightful staff provided when I recently came for an eye test. Subsequently, you provided new prescription lenses to my existing frames which were ordered on line using the then current lenses (how do you do that?) and they were fitted the week after my test at your shop in ten minutes. Having in previous years attended a major high street retailer where I spent longer waiting than it took you to do the job at price more competitive than I had expected, I was really impressed. It was great to receive professional service from a company that delivers a great product, I will have no hesitation in recommending you to friends and family."
Brian Whitehouse - Triangle, Sowerby Bridge - February 2018
"Thank you for all the time and effort you have put into getting my music glasses just right. I have been using them most days this week in different music environments. The outcome is that I can read both my music and  the conductor is crystal clear all the time.....a miracle!"
Michele Hickie - Bassoonist- Ilkley - February 2018
"The new lenses have really helped make the music clearer on the page and are of immense benefit when the lighting is poor. I am very pleased with them. "
Markus Van Horn - Professional Double Bassist - February 2018
"Dear Sheryl, I had the pleasure of booking my husband, Tony, in for an eye test yesterday - his first eye test since he was 21! It's taken me ages to persuade him to go. He found a very warm welcome, a professional approach and he was reassured by the thoroughness of the eye test. He was very impressed with your expert knowledge of his vintage glasses. I will continue to recommend Allegro Optical to all my friend, family and business contacts."
Debbie Crellin - Crellin Consulting - February 2018
"Although I need to, I do not like wearing spectacles as I have never found a pair that I can wear comfortably. That is, until I paid a visit to Allegro Optical who recommended a pair of rimless glasses - so I bought a pair. I have put pen to paper because I want everyone to know that I feel liberated! They are so light that I do not know that I am wearing them at all. BRILLIANT. I will not hesitate to recommend Allegro Optical Opticians to others. Many Thanks to you and your professional staff. Keep up the good work "
Mike Oller - Carpet Clearance Centre - Lockwood - January 2018
"Thanks to all the guys at Allegro for looking after my son Ben today, it made such difference to him being looked after by such dedicated staff. "
Claire Bolland - Meltham - January 2018
"I hate having to wear glasses, however, my new glasses are vastly better than anything my usual optician had been able to make for me. "
Ruth Ker - Professional Musician - Double Bass / Keyboards - Harrogate - January 2018
"Just a short note to acknowledge my complete satisfaction with the service I received. From booking my appointment with Josie, who I have known for a number of years from her previous employment; along with the rest of the reception team. You sent a text confirming my appointment, along with a pre-test questionnaire. Sheryl you have shown excellent professional care and expertise as a dispensing optician, along with first class aftercare. Which I can confirm is genuine and not just empty words. Last, but certainly not least, the person who completes your team, Claire, your optometrist, with whom I was highly delightes. Claire’s approach was very professional and through, her communication is concise and to the point, but friendly and amicable; In my opinion she is an asset which completes the team. "
Keith Beever - Meltham - January 2018
"Excellent service, walked in to make an appointment & luckily was able to be seen straight away with very friendly, thorough and efficient staff. Great pricing and a lovely selection of frames. I have two pairs on order and will definitely be back for all my optical needs!"
Jennifer Louise Hayes - Meltham - January 2018
"Just a quick note to say thank you for the great service and hospitality you showed me recently at your practice in Meltham. From the start of the eye test through to the completed prescription of glasses you showed patience, knowledge and expertise. You treated a minor eye infection and recommended a new pair of glasses which I am delighted with. I look forward to visiting your practice again and will recommend your service to others. Best Regards"
John Polley - John Polley Brand Communications - December 2017
"Dear Sheryl, I said I'd let you know how things were going with the new glasses, now that I've done a couple more concerts in different situations. I've carried on using the new glasses for all my practising and most of my teaching. On 7th November I did a series of concerts and workshops on period instruments in Birkenhead School, playing a Vivaldi flute concerto and the last movement of Bach Brandenburg 5 to various different age groups, plus conducting a baroque woodwind session. It was a very long day but it all went fine, I felt comfortable looking up from my music when playing in the ensemble, conducting was easier when I could see both the music and the players equally comfortably, and when I did a baroque flute demonstration as part of a study session for the A level and GCSE students (in a large chapel), I was able to see the students in the audience easily without having to take my glasses off! Last Saturday I played for a choral concert in Newcastle (JS and CPE Bach Magnificats), again on baroque flute. I think my eyes were tired by the performance, after driving there and rehearsing, because I felt I was swimming a bit, but I've got so used to wearing the new glasses now that I didn't worry too much about it and just tried to remain focused (in every way!) and didn't misread anything. My vision of the conductor was better than for many years - it's only now that I realise how fuzzy conductors have been for a long time! I thought that I might have trouble refocusing when looking down at the music again after looking at the conductor, but actually I think that aspect is easier than it was when I was using single vision middle distance lenses. In the past, I think when I looked at the conductor my eyes would try and focus even though it was fuzzy, so when I looked down at the music again they would have to readjust. Now the situation is a lot better than I ever thought it would be. Best wishes, Edwina. "
Edwina Smith - Flautist - York - November 2017
"Just threaded a tiny needle unaided, first time in years! Great glasses!"
M Mellor - Meltham - November 2017
"I recently used the services of Allegro Optical for my 2 yearly eye test after they had been recommended to me by a work colleague. Immediately on arrival I was made to feel very welcome by all the staff they were very friendly and made you feel at ease straight away. The eye test conducted was very thorough and afterwards, I was very confident that they had done their utmost to check my eyesight health and answer any questions that I had, nothing was too much trouble. Afterwards, I spent quite a long time selecting my new glasses there was a huge range to choose from and I felt Sheryl was really helpful and assisted in my choice. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and I did not feel hurried or rushed at all, everyone spent time making sure I was happy. I will definitely be recommending Allegro to my friends and family and anyone who is anxious about having their eyes checked as there is nothing to worry about you are in good hands. Keep up the excellent service. "
Ruth Senior - Flockton, Wakefield. November 2017
"I am so pleased with my new glasses. They allow me to see music over three sheets on the stand perfectly well and I can look up and see the conductor. I am able to drive in them and I can see to read. They are so much better than my old varifocals and my old degressive lenses. I can now concentrate on my playing rather than trying to concentrate on seeing."
Angelo Bearpark - Geneva Instruments Performing Artist, Development & Promotional Consultant - October 2017
"I would like to express my thanks to the whole team. Allegro Optical have supplied spectacles for both my wife and I and their service is customer centred and professional. Stephen Haigh was the ophthalmic optician who took good care of us testing our eyes, while Sheryl dispensed our spectacles. Since Allegro Opticians opened in Meltham they have become a valued new presence within our village. I am only too happy to give my full endorsement to Allegro and recommend them for all optical requirements. "
Anthony Bolland - Meltham - October 2017
"From the moment I walked into Allegro Optical, I knew I would be dealt with efficiently and professionally. The shop itself is well equipped whilst retaining a reassuring intimacy, and all the staff are welcoming and friendly. Sheryl was very thorough and asked all the right questions regarding my specific vision issues. When I received my new glasses, the first thing I noticed was the weight of the frames - they’re as light as a feather! I was less concerned with the cosmetic appearance of my glasses but I acknowledge that they are very discreet. After experiencing some difficulty focusing on my printed sheet music, both at home and in my performance work, I returned to Sheryl. After some discussion, she decided on a solution to my problems. I have now tested my new glasses in both rehearsal and concert situations and I am delighted with the results. No more stooping down to focus on the dots and then lifting my head to see the conductor. After 2 years of wearing badly fitting frames in order to compensate for my specific issues, I can feel my confidence returning. I would highly recommend a visit to Allegro Optical to any musician seeking a solution to their vision problems. Sheryl and her team will do everything they can to help."
Rhian Evans - Harpist - September 2017
"I would like to thank you and your staff for the excellent customer service I received at Allegro Optical recently. I am getting to that age when I need to regularly review my contact lens prescription because small print is becoming increasingly difficult to read. Following a contact lens malfunction, I found myself unable to read something in a public forum. This prompted me to contact Shery; who booked me in the next day.. My eyes were tested and I was given some new contact lenses to trial. I was also given various payment options to suit what I needed. Although my previous optician couldn't be faulted for keeping a check on my prescription and eye health, it was a large organisation and I saw a different practitioner each time. In addition to this my cheapest option was to pay by direct debit and receive a monthly supply. However, this meant I received too many solutions, which was a huge waste. With Allegro Optical, I believe customers get a truly personal service. You and your staff listened to what the customer wants and look for the best possible solution. I would highly recommend you to family and friends."
Karen Goode - Yorkshire Education Service - September 2017
"Having switched to Allegro from my previous optician, I have to say the service was even better. I've just picked up my glasses with new lenses and they really make a difference. Service is excellent from the eye examination to choosing the frames and all the excellent surroundings. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Allegro for all your optical needs. Thanks again"
Ian Wilkinson (Director of Clearview Group Ltd) August 2017
"Just a brief note to thank you for your all round great customer service. I had to admit that I had left it too long since my last eye test and both long and short vision were starting to suffer… it creeps up on you! In particular, I was having to raise my glasses to see small print. After my eye test, we discussed the lenses I would need for both lifestyle and work, for which you recommended having a larger varifocal lens, but I protested that would mean heavier lenses and frames. Which when you wear glasses virtually all day can get very irritating. However, you were able to source an ultra light frame and the latest thin lens technology, which seemed to completely fit my requirements… Result! Your special half price offer also made it possible and affordable to have a second spare pair made to the latest specification. On placing the order you promised it would be two weeks to receiving my order. Ten days later I was a fully fitted and satisfied customer. In addition, the super light frame/lens combination means I can now look down with confidence, only a fellow varifocal lens wearer will appreciate this fully! Thank you again, I shall be recommending you and Allegro Optical to anyone that will listen!"
Ken Pearce - Linthwaite- August 2017
"It was such a joy to come to an optician that understood my needs as a viola player. As a musician, I have enough things to bring along to rehearsals – without remembering additional glasses! I can now use the same glasses for playing as for driving, work, gardening, yoga and canvassing!"
Gillian Charters - Viola player - Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra - July 2017
"The sunglasses are brill! Had them on for driving. "
Ruth Haas Eckersley - Cornet Player - Diggle Brass Band - Championship section - July 2017
"Friendly team who helped me and my mum who were confused to which frames to get, talked us through each style and frames, making the process easy "
Adelay Codner - July 2017
"Huge thank you to Allegro Optical for your help sorting my contact lenses and finding me some lovely new glasses! Will be recommending you!"
Samantha McCormick - Co-Founder of Curel Wellbeing, Freelance Dance Artist, ENB & NSCD - July 2017
"I would like to thank you and your staff for the excellent customer service I received when visiting Allegro Optical in Meltham recently. It was time to get my eyes tested and new glasses sorted. The whole experience was excellent from the eye test to choosing frames and beyond. I chose two pairs of glasses. One to carry around with me and one to leave at home. Once I'd started to use my new glasses Sheryl checked to make sure I was managing with my new glasses. Having explained that the ones I took out with me were fine, but I wasn't getting on so well the the ones I had at home. Sheryl asked me to call back into Allegro Optical so she could check the glasses position ect. Sheryl re-adjusted where they rested and I've not had any issues with the glasses since. Excellent customer service and after care. Thank you Sheryl & team. I'm delighted, thrilled with my new glasses and will continue to recommend you to our friends, family and business contacts."
Janet Bebb - Managing Director - Social Progress, Honley - July 2017
"Before I left a review I wanted to try my new glasses at rehearsals. I am so happy to say they performed brilliantly. I was wearing Zeiss varifocals which didn't work for playing at all as the part of the lens where my music stand is was much too narrow. My previous optician had said this was the only solution. It was very expensive and far from satisfactory. I came to Allegro Opticians on recommendation and I have been so pleased. The test was very thorough and my glasses are excellent. You pointed out that varifocals were not the answer to my problems and took a lot of time designing my new musical lenses. I didn't buy my glasses on the day but took my prescription and shopped around. Nearly all the opticians I visited said I should have varifocals except one who said I needed two pairs, one a varifocal and a second pair with office lenses. That was extortionate. Thanks to you I have a lovely pair of glasses which I can see to drive and play in. I also have a lovely pair of sunglasses which were free. I doubted your claims as all other opticians told me it wasn't possible. Well, it seems you have done the impossible. I can now carry on playing, which to me is a very important thing. Thank you so much."
Maria Jones - Baritone player - Brockholes - July 2017
"I would like to say a big thankyou to the team at Meltham. My eldest broke both her pairs of glasses and my original opticians was closed so we came to you and you were very friendly helpful and sorted out a new pair within a few days. Also did swimming goggles within a day fantastic service thankyou my girls love coming to see you"
Annette Flooks - Meltham - July 2017
"Dear Sheryl Having reached the point at which my arms could not stretch any further, it was time to get my eyes tested. Allegro offered a very smooth service and even reminded me to attend by text! The eye test was hassle free, quick and efficient. The premises itself are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Sheryl was extremely patient in my fussiness to find the perfect “look” and allowed me to try on a tonne of frames. One week later, glasses ready, collected and fitted! Great service and highly recommended. Yours gratefully Annabelle Hill"
Annabelle Hill - Smart PA - June 2017
"Just had my first app with Allegro and couldn't be more pleased, great service, lovely people and fitted to suit my needs perfectly, thank you all :-)"
Lynne Moxon - Marsden - June 2017
"Having collected and used both pairs of new spectacles I was surprised how little time it took me to get used to them. I collected the specs and played a concert the next day. As I was sight-reading it was even more important that I could read the music quickly and without it taking too much time for me to focus. The only problem I had that day was the sunlight as the concert was outside and I have since ordered some prescription sunglasses too. I feel more relaxed playing now in general as the complication of struggling to see the music clearly has been resolved. The only issue is that I cannot blame my sight anymore for the wrong notes I play…....."
Ruth Haas Eckersley - Cornet Player - Diggle Brass Band - Championship section - June 2017
"Eye Exam for my little boy who has an existing eye condition. Top Notch service. Very knowledgeable, very thorough, friendly and helpful. Will be returning for an eye exam myself. "
Helen Byram - Buzz Safety -Holmfirth - June 2017
"Thank you. A visit to the opticians often makes me feel anxious, but I think I may have found the perfect solution. It is Allegro Optical, in Meltham. When I first entered your shop I felt very welcome. I love the modern comfortable surroundings. There are fabulous displays featuring a variety of frames, there must be something to suit everyone. The staff are all friendly, welcoming and very professional. The sight testing room is not at all clinical and has comfy chairs, modern equipment and a very calming decor. I always find choosing frames both difficult and time-consuming, but your dispensing optician put me at ease and we chatted over a cup of coffee. She asked me about my daily activities, the colours I liked to wear and my style choices. Then, hey presto, she produced some frames that instantly suited me. She even found a glitzy, stylish frame as a second free pair, to wear in the evenings. We discussed what lenses would suit my needs and lifestyle, settling on photochromic varifocals in one pair and clear varifocals in the second pair. The dispensing optician explained all about the lens coatings she could offer and how they would benefit me. When my spectacles arrived I was both excited and delighted. I put them on and didn't take them off. They fit perfectly and the lenses provide quality, clear vision at any distance in any light. The frames are light, well made and were very reasonably priced. The whole experience from beginning to end was smooth and efficient demonstrating what professional, skilled professionals you are. A visit to Allegro Optical will provide individual attention ensuring that your spectacles meet your specific needs. I would highly recommend a visit to anyone, and indeed I have done. Why would I want to go anywhere else now that I have found you? Many thanks to you all at Allegro Optical. Yours Sincerely"
Mrs Lupton-King - June 2017
"I would just like to say a big thank you for the help and advice that you gave me recently when I visited Allegro Optical to choose my new spectacles. As well as my normal glasses I also chose a pair of prescription sunglasses, in the short time that I have had them they have proved invaluable, especially when driving. As a result of the service and advice I received from you, I will in the future have no hesitation in recommending you to my friends and business contacts. "
John Goode - John Goode Electrical - June 2017
"I had the pleasure of visiting Allegro Optical for the first time yesterday and found a very warm welcome and a professional approach. My eye test went smoothly, I was quickly put at my ease and care was taken to ensure the eye test was thorough. The service was excellent and very good value for money. I won't hesitate to recommend Allegro Optical to all my friends, family and business contacts. Best wishes"
Debbie Crellin - Crellin Consulting - June 2017
"I am utterly delighted, I've just collected my new specs. Everything is crystal clear, prices really reasonable, and I got a free second pair. Allegro Optical are the best Opticians in Meltham by far."
Aoibhe Johansen - Holmfirth - May 2017
"Hi Sheryl I hope you're well. I've been meaning to drop you an email to tell you how I got on last weekend with the marching glasses. They worked a treat. They took a bit to get used to. Seeing the ground and around me was fine. Seeing the music was also fine. Seeing straight ahead was an issue...obviously.... Mainly cause they work the opposite way round to my everyday varifocals. The walking also was fine but the tooting at the same time was an experience I'd forgotten. It was a 5 mile march so quite challenging for my first time in nearly 30 years. By the end I'd got most of the short notes sorted but the long notes were a challenge. Who knew you could bend a note 2 tones up and down without even trying just by walking at the same time.....lol. There's a knack to this that needs practice.....I got many tips on the day. I appreciated the good ground view as we had to dodge round horse poo as well.....which often looked like they'd been fed curry beforehand too. Always a treat....... :-) Durham Miners gala next. Thanks so much for your help with this; it's really made a difference to the experience. Marie "
Marie Bedford, Solo Horn, Emley Brass Band - May 2017
"New glasses are fab-u-lous and more right notes too."
Simeon Yates - Clarinetist - The Band of The Yorkshire Regiment-May 2017
"I would like to express my sincere thanks for the excellent professional advice and service which I received from you. In terms of expertise and experience, You simply knew exactly what was required for me, explained your reasoning clearly and logically, and made me aware of so many eyesight-related issues I had not even considered before. It was a pleasure to be attended to by you, and my sister, who I was delighted to refer to her, shares my views. All good wishes Tim Mellors"
Tim Mellors, LCF Law, Harrogate - May 2017
"“I have been wearing my new spectacles since I got them. I have worn them for: • Cutting tiny wedges to fit mortices in the rehairing of cello bows • Teaching, from a single music stand, as well as sideways on from a stand placed in front of the pupil. • Reading piano music to accompany pupils. • Attending a String Quartet concert at Leeds College of Music and being able to see clearly. The biggest surprise is that I no longer have to take the specs off for close work. It's all looking fantastic. Thanks again, for helping me and the service has been exceptional.” Fiona. "
Fiona Mayo BA(Hons) Dip Mus, LRSM, LTCL, Cellist and Cello teacher - April 2017
"Friendly, professional and with such a varied choice of frames that were so reasonably priced, why would you need to go anywhere else. We were so impressed with the choice and service! Thank you"
Helen Ashcroft - Purple Dog - April 2017
"I have got my glasses from Sheryl for years and I have always received superb service. The range of frames is extremely varied and Sheryl is just great at finding glasses that fit and suit me, even though I have a fairly high prescription. Sheryl always provides a very helpful, friendly, efficient and professional service. I have recommended Sheryl to numerous friends and will continue to do so. "
Sam Alcock, ‎Managing Director of Custard Online Marketing, - January 2017
"I have been delighted with the expert advice and specialist dispensing provided by Sheryl. I am now able to see the conductor and the music properly, and this has made such a difference to my ‘life’ as a professional organist and musician. “I was only thinking about the difference the spectacles have made last weekend when I was playing at Winchester Cathedral”. The glasses work a treat! I heartily recommend Sheryl to fellow musicians and performers."
Prof David Baker PhD. - Mytholmroyd - January 2017
"Sheryl, I collected my new glasses on Tuesday and I am amazed at the difference they have made. I can see the music on my stand and exactly as you promised I can see our conductor. I have, to be honest, a little part of me doubted your claims as so many opticians in the past have promised to fix my vision and failed, but you have been true to your word. I want to compliment you on your skill, knowledge and professionalism. I will most certainly be singing your praises, pardon the pun. Many Thanks Tony M"
Antony Martin, Holmfirth - October 2016
"The service and our glasses have been first class, you even delivered them to our home. It is so nice to find someone who is as professional as you, and who puts in so much effort. My husband and I always went to a certain 241 chain before but you have converted us. From now on we will always ring up to see Sheryl and buy our glasses from you."
Marion Marsden - Linthwaite - September 2016
"Sheryl is a highly motivated professional, widely respected by all those who work with her and know her. Sheryl's focus on customer satisfaction, developing and maintaining professional relationships is excellent. She is extremely professional and passionate in all her undertakings, conscientious, hardworking, thoroughly reliable and timely. She is also painstaking in her attention to detail for all her client's requirements. Sheryl's communication skills and presentations are excellent. She interacts well with people both professionally and socially. Her confident and friendly manner together with her sense of humour, encourage huge respect and loyalty from all who engage with her. I could not recommend anyone more highly than Sheryl"
Steve Heywood, Lead Trumpet with Sounds Tijuana, - March 2016
"I would like to thank Sheryl Doe for the amazing service she has provided, from the professional consultation to the glasses themselves. When I lost my glasses I telephoned Sheryl and even though she was on holiday she arranged for me to get a replacement pair ASAP. I have no hesitation in recommending Sheryl to all my family, friends and work contacts. Thanks again Sheryl"
Mark Peacock - August 2015
"I would like to thank you for the enjoyable experience I have just been through when having my eyes tested. In the past, I have used Opticians, but I now realise the difference between a high street national brand and a specialist independent opticians.... its all about service. I was greeted with a smile and cheery hello, offered a coffee then I was personally talked through a couple of forms that needed completing as a new client. The test began ”on time” and there were no delays or long waits. The optometrist was very professional, he even put me through a few tests that I’d not done before – I was very impressed. When choosing my glasses frames and lenses I was given excellent advice, even when telling me that the reason I needed multiple focus lenses was due to “being of a certain age" The whole visit was much more pleasant than I have experienced before and well worth the trip. I certainly won’t hesitate to tell my friends, family and fellow players all about you. "
Andrew Toothill, Euphonium and Bass player - August 2015
"I just wanted to pass on my utmost thanks for the beautiful spectacles which I collected this morning. They are quite simply marvellous in every way; light, elegant, and make such a difference. Thank you for all the effort you have put in on this, it is greatly appreciated and I think we have ended up with something quite exceptional. best wishes"
Dr Gregory - October 2014

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.